SIXTEEN YEARS AFTER 9/11

Though it has been 16 years, Americans still remember the tragic event that happened on September 11th where terrorists attacked the Unites States. They hijacked four airplanes in mid flight. The terrorists flew two of the planes into two skyscrapers at the World Trade Center in New York City. Another plane destroyed part of the Pentagon in Arlington, Virginia. The fourth plane crashed in Shanksville, Pennsylvania. In all, nearly 3,000 people were killed in the 9/11 attacks.

Many people around the world has a story when this traffic event happened. Some had vivid experiences and others were too young but remember bits and pieces of it. Richie Crespo a Journalism student at New Mexico State University says he was only five years of age when 9/11 occurred. “I didn’t understand what was going on, I knew it was something serious when my dad picked me up.” Crespo recalls. Crespo felt like his parents did not need for him to know what was going on so they kept the news to themselves. Crespo remembers his parents kept looking at the television of the attack. “My parents never told me what happened, it was until later a friend told me terrorists attacked us.” Crespo said, “it all made sense why my parents did not want to tell me.” Now that Crespo is older and knows fully what happened sixteen years ago he still feels that America will always be affected by this tragic event. “Even though my parents kept me in the dark with the news, now that I’m older this tragedy now Americans will see foreigners differently, it changes the way how we think about policies, it changes the whole perspective now.” Crespo said.

 

IMG_3762
Richie Crespo NMSU Journalism Major. Picture by Raquel Lopez

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Amanda Adame who is a Junior at NMSU Journalism Major, does not have a good concept of the event because she was only 1 years old. “I have no memory when the tragic event happened, but when I got older I asked my mom what happened that day and she told me she was watching the news and saw that America was under attack so she called my dad to pick my sister up from school.” Adame said. Her parents were terrified that Fort Bliss could be under attack since it was considered to be the biggest Army bases in the United States. Adame had no memory of the attack because she was just a baby, but now that she is older she knows this had and will continue to have an affect on America. “This is a changing event that has demonstrated that Americans can unite and support one another. It has also made us more cautious that anything can happen and we need to be more alert.”

IMG_3764
Amanda Adame NMSU student. Picture by Raquel Lopez.

 

Now after sixteen years of 9/11 the world knows their wont be no more skyscrapers to go see in New York, but there will be a tribute of remembrance and honor. Occupying eight of the 16 acres at the World Trade Center, the 9/11 Memorial and Museum are tributes to the past and a place of hope for the future.

Leave a comment